The Kraze

View Original

Watch the SUNRISE with DAY6!

In January of this year, DAY6 decided to take on a hefty challenge: the Every DAY6 series. Once every month, the group releases a new title track and companion music video, as well as a second track on each of their single albums. Now that the group has reached the halfway mark of 2017 (already?!), it is time for DAY6 to release their first-ever full album.

(Source: JYP Entertainment)

DAY6 released the album SUNRISE on June 7, simultaneously announcing their fan club name, which is the adorable “My Day”!

SUNRISE has the incredible number of 14 songs, containing Every DAY6 tracks, older tracks, and two previously unreleased songs. The title-track appears as “반드시 웃는다 (I Smile),” though the name is deceiving. The lyrics are quite solemn as they talk about a breakup. At this point, can we crown DAY6 the kings of breakup songs? Though the amount of melancholy songs DAY6 has is a bit alarming, they always prove to be their most incredible, emotional tracks. The music video is much like their others, which features the band playing live, accompanied by solo shots and flashbacks of a girl who is the presumed ex-girlfriend. While simple, these kinds of videos have become a new trademark for DAY6, and they always seem to captivate me and the audience every.single.time.

The album’s first track is not “반드시 웃는다 (I Smile)” but “오늘은 내게 (Lean On Me),” yet another new song. If “반드시 웃는다 (I Smile)” wasn’t rock enough for listeners, then this one will curb that craving wondrously. It opens with strong electric guitars and drums, though it has a slight nostalgic feeling—are we back in the punk-rock early 2000s era? As usual, vocals are on point as well as the instrumentals. Honestly, why is DAY6 so underrated? The group has the full package, plus the uniqueness of being a fully-equipped band that sounds absolutely UNREAL live.

(Source: YouTube)

The rest of the album contains songs such as “아 왜 (I Wait),” which was their very first Every DAY6 track. The group’s announcement in January revealed many were still skeptical of this new time-consuming project, but as soon as “아 왜 (I Wait)” was released, all doubts were cast aside, with fans rapidly downloading the track. The song is impactful from its first note. But enough talk—if you haven’t heard this song yet, then where have you been for the past six months?

The equally amazing “어떻게 말해 (How Can I Say)” as well as the popular “예뻤어 (You Were Beautiful)” are also included as part of the tracklist. Painful memories arise as a rebooted version of “놓아 놓아 놓아 (Letting Go)” was added to the album, the first song without former sixth member Junhyeok. If that isn’t enough feels, a supposedly final version of “Congratulations,” the group’s debut song, is also included, though it lacks Junhyeok’s voice.

Other Every DAY6 tracks on the album include “그럴 텐데 (I Would),” “DANCE DANCE,” “겨울이 간다 (Goodbye Winter),” “Man in a Movie,” the addicting and happy “장난 아닌데 (I’m Serious),” and “Say Wow,” as well as “My Day.”

By the way, all of these songs—I mean all 14 of these amazing tracks—were either written or co-written by vocalist, guitarist, and now master lyricist, Young K.

Fans can expect more songs for each month left in the second half of 2017, with this full album remaining a definite treat to My Days. What will fans do when 2017 is over? Another plus of SUNRISE is the fact that Jae was released from the social media dungeon! Yes, that means Jae is back on Twitter with his ridiculous tweets and hashtags. My Days rejoice!

Follow him on Twitter: @Jae_Day6

Congratulations to DAY6 for topping the iTunes Album Chart in nine different countries only one day after the album’s release! They have also announced their DAY6 Live Meet & Greet 2017 tour, which will stop by Taipei, Bangkok, and Jakarta this summer. Here’s to hoping more people will stop sleeping and finally awaken to the SUNRISE that is the glorious DAY6.

Check out DAY6’s music video for “I Smile”.